Book Review: The Ruining by Anna Collomore

15715847Title: The Ruining
Author: Anna Collomore
Published on: February 7th 2013
Publisher: Razorbill
Psychological  | Young Adult

Annie Phillips is thrilled to leave her past behind and begin a shiny new life on Belvedere Island, as a nanny for the picture-perfect Cohen family. In no time at all, she falls in love with the Cohens, especially with Libby, the beautiful young matriarch of the family. Life is better than she ever imagined. She even finds romance with the boy next door.
All too soon cracks appear in Annie’s seemingly perfect world. She’s blamed for mistakes she doesn’t remember making. Her bedroom door comes unhinged, and she feels like she’s always being watched. Libby, who once felt like a big sister, is suddenly cold and unforgiving. As she struggles to keep up with the demands of her new life, Annie’s fear gives way to frightening hallucinations. Is she tumbling into madness, or is something sinister at play?
“The Ruining “is a complex ride through first love, chilling manipulation, and the terrifying depths of insanity.

tempI wanted to love this book. I almost thought I did but every time I think about it, the way it ended it makes me want to forget I ever read this. Am I too harsh? Sorry. Oh god, I hate writing negative reviews.

It started out really gooood. I swear to God it was really good at first. But then it suddenly became boring and melodramatic. And the worst was the ending, I felt like it was rushed out just to have a ”good” ending. The first half was good albeit kind of slow but it was necessary, necessary for us, the readers, to get settled in the story, to engulf the suspense, to get to know the characters but it was just too much after that half. It was boooooring, nothing happened, just the same repetitive things. That’s why I felt the ending was rushed because everything started to worked out really great for the main character. Don’t get me wrong, I am (well, not always) a fan of good and they live happily ever afters but I am not a big fan of not well thought out endings. Heck, I even like open endings better than endings that felt flat and was finished just-for-the-sake. You know what I mean?

I also hated Annie, the main character, all I wanted to do to her was smack her head for her to wake the fuck up. Her love and relationship with Libby was so creepy. I mean, your employer bullied you, wanted you to skip classes, and even forbade you from having friends, but she still liked her!

image

She was head over heels in-liked with her employer. If I was her, I would fucking quit. It was really obvious that her employer was a psychotic dumb bitch.

I have no problem with Owen (Annie’s love interest) because He’s the fucking savior of the day! HOOOORAY. He fixed everything up, so there you go Annie and Owen you can kiss and live happily ever after.

image

Warning: Possible spoilers (not really)

And there are a lot of things that were not answered. Like, how Annie’s mom did not recognize her voice when she called her. How is that possible?? I mean, she’s her mom after all, how the fuck did she not recognized her daughter’s voice! SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME. And when Annie said she kept on calling Owen, but Owen said Annie never called him! I NEED TO KNOW WHHYYYYY. Was Annie really losing her shit? SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME. *sigh*

So much plot holes.

To sum it all up, this book didn’t work for me AT ALL.  Just plain, boring and ridiculous mystery book.

temp (1)

1Any thoughts?

Links: Goodreads | Book Depository

Leave a Reply

