Book Review: Another Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn

12665819Title: Another Little Piece
Author:  Kate Karyus Quinn
Published on: June 11th 2013
Publisher: Harper Teen
Paranormal | Young Adult

The spine-tingling horror of Stephen King meets an eerie mystery worthy of Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars series in Kate Karyus Quinn’s haunting debut. On a cool autumn night, Annaliese Rose Gordon stumbled out of the woods and into a high school party. She was screaming. Drenched in blood. Then she vanished. A year later, Annaliese is found wandering down a road hundreds of miles away. She doesn’t know who she is. She doesn’t know how she got there. She only knows one thing: She is not the real Annaliese Rose Gordon. Now Annaliese is haunted by strange visions and broken memories. Memories of a reckless, desperate wish . . . a bloody razor . . . and the faces of other girls who disappeared. Piece by piece, Annaliese’s fractured memories come together to reveal a violent, endless cycle that she will never escape—unless she can unlock the twisted secrets of her past.

tempDa fuq did I just read?

*sigh* let’s just make this review short and simple, shall we? Not that there’s much to say other than it was such a disappointment.

I thought this book would be a good mystery / paranormal. I thought it would be like Pretty Little Liars with a little bit of Stephen king on it. (Says the blurb) Boy, I was so wrong. Another Little Piece is far beyond Pretty Little Liars (I’m a huge fan of the series) Stephen King? Don’t know, ’cause I haven’t read any of his books. And my copy of insomnia is just there on my shelf, can’t pick it up because the book is too thick. Anyway, don’t let the blurb fool you. Just don’t.

Another Little Piece is such an utter disappointment. The first few chapters were good, the mystery was really engrossing. But after so many huge bombs the author kept on throwing, well, everything started to fall apart. Then I don’t know what the fuck I was reading. It was really confusing and weird. My brain couldn’t even comprehend it. *le sigh*

I wished this book didn’t turn out as a paranormal book. It really has a lot of potential as a mystery book. *le sigh again* I expected a LOT again. I’m blaming the blurb. Yep. I am blaming the blurb. I just really thought Another Little Piece would be about abduction, serial killers, and crazy secrets. Well, it wasn’t. It was weird and I must say the story line was unique, nothing I’ve ever read before but it just didn’t work out for me.

temp (1)

1

What are your thoughts about this book? Leave a comment!! xo

Links: Goodreads | Book Depository

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Another Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn

  1. Sorry you didn’t like Another Little Piece! I have read reviews that said they wished it wasn’t a paranormal book, too, and I see that because I have no idea how a paranormal book would have mystery mixed in it. I am def. going to skip over this book.

  2. Too bad about this one, it sounded pretty good. So many mixed reviews and now yours, I think I will skip this one. Seems a bit confusing and a little boring. Great review :)

  3. Pingback: The Friday 56: Another Little Piece | Brin's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

