Book Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

6931356Title: The DUFF
Author: Kody Keplinger
Published on: September 7th 2010
Publisher: Little Brown
Contemporary | Young Adult

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

tempWhy? Why did it took me so long to read this book? *le creys* I’ve been seeing this book for so long, but I kept dodging it. I don’t know why, it’s just that I’m not in the mood for it back then. I mean, I have – had like 100 books on my TBR shelf, virtually. I didn’t have time for it. Finally, last week, I organized my TBR shelf on Goodreads. Yep, I removed some not so interesting books, I don’t even know why I marked them as to read. And do you know how many books were left after that? Guess what? 30+ books. Seriously? I can’t freaking believe it. Anyway, god. I’m so talkative. Don’t mind me. Just keep on scrolling and reading. Okay?

I’m glad I didn’t remove The DUFF on my shelf. I am so glad. Hallelujah. Because this book is one of my favorite books now. (Ugh. I want this book physically on my physically small shelf).

I loved this book, okay? Loved it. Absofuckingterrificlutely. I loved every single thing of it. Funny? Check. Realistic? Well, heck yes! Sweet? Check, check.

Kody Keplinger, god, woman, you are amazing. Your book is UGH-mazing. You did an incredible job on developing the characters. Hands down, woman. I absolutely loved every single one of them. Yes, they are flawed, but that’s what made them real and lovable. Who would want a fake, unreliable, annoying character, right? right? This book hasn’t.

Bianca Piper, main protagonist, I loved her to bits and pieces. She’s sassy, brutal, funny. I connected easily to her, you know, because I’m also a DUFF. I’m not exactly fat or ugly. I’m plain and my friends, they’re always the center of attention because they’re beautiful, they know how to dress like a lady and me? Well, awkward and plain. But I’m happy the way I am. Anyway, Bianca is also a runner (runner of problems) she couldn’t face them that’s why she kept on running away from them. I’m not gonna judge her for that, because I’m also like that and everyone else is. Don’t try to tell me that you are not a runner, who are you kidding? We all have that one problem or problems we just can’t face. Well, kudos to you if you did! Kudos also to Bianca, because as the story progressed, she finally stopped running away from them and she faced them, bravely.

“No matter where you go or what you do to distract yourself, reality catches up with you eventually.”

 
Wesley Rush, on the other hand, is a jerk. Well, a hot and sexy jerk. I loved this boy, he made me swoon. Yes, he’s cocky, overly confident jerk. But this boy is funny as hell like Bianca. I so loved their banters.

“Spanish, huh?” he said, glancing down at the scattered papers as he grabbed them. “Can you say anything interesting?”
El tono de tu voz hace que queria estrangularme.” I stood up and waited for him to hand over my papers.
“That sounds sexy,” he said, getting to his feet and handing me the stack of Spanish work he’d swept together. “What’s it mean?”
“The sound of your voice makes me want to strangle myself.”
“Kinky.”

 
What I loved about the way Kody wrote him is there’s a reason behind why his character is an asshole. He’s not just a bad boy, he’s not just a womanizer. There’s a heart breaking reason behind all of that. His character development was amazing, his development wasn’t rush (punintentionally lol). Like Bianca, he finally stopped running away from them and he faced his problems.

“Wesley Rush doesn’t chase girls, but I’m chasing you.”

 
*swoooooooooooon*I also loved Bianca’s best friends, Casey and Jessica. They’re the best best friends in the whole world, Bianca is super lucky to have them. They are supportive and caring. They didn’t leave Bianca’s side even though Bianca pushed them away. What I would do just to have a friends like them.

“I wanted to make sure you were fine…and that he was okay, too. You didn’t, like, stab the boy, did you? I mean, I totally disapprove of murdering hotties, but if you need help burying the body, you know I’ll bring the shovel.”

 
All in all, it was an amazing and entertaining read. DUFF is about facing your horrible problems, learning from your mistakes and embracing the duff-ness.

“I was the Duff. And that was a good thing. Because anyone who didn’t feel like the Duff must not have friends. Every girl feels unattractive sometimes.

temp (1)

5

What are your thoughts about this book? Leave a comment!!! xoxo

Links: Goodreads | Book Depository

One thought on “Book Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

  1. Haha I’m so glad you loved this book! I enjoyed it as well because of how realistic it is and the characters are very engaging. At first, I thought it was going to be a light read because of the bright cover with a girl blowing a gum. I was very surprised that it was the opposite of my first impression, but I’m glad how it turned out.

Leave a Reply

