Book Review: Flat-Out Love (Flat-Out Love #1) by Jessica Park

11096647Title: Flat-Out Love (Flat-Out Love #1)
Author: Jessica Park
Published on: April 11, 2011
Published by: Jessica Park
Contemporary | Young Adult

He was tall, at least six feet, with dirty blond hair that hung over his eyes. His T-shirt read Nietzsche Is My Homeboy.

So, that was Matt. Who Julie Seagle likes. A lot. But there is also Finn. Who she flat out loves. Complicated? Awkward? Completely.

But really, how was this freshly-minted Boston transplant and newbie college freshman supposed to know that she would end up living with the family of an old friend of her mother’s? This was all supposed to be temporary. Julie wasn’t supposed to be important to the Watkins family, or to fall in love with one of the brothers. Especially the one she’s never quite met. But what does that really matter? Finn gets her, like no one ever has before. They have connection.

But here’s the thing about love, in all its twisty, bumpy permutations—it always throws you a few curves. And no one ever escapes unscathed.

tempWow! I never thought I would loved this book. Wow. Seriously. After reading the first chapter, I already knew that I was clearly, extremely hooked! I stayed up until 4 am just to finished Flat-Out Love and I must say, it was worth it.

Flat-Out Love gave me a refreshing vibe. One of the things I loved about this book is that it’s normal (that’s not a very relatable description) What I mean is, there is no OH-MY-GOD-HE’S-CUTE-AND-THOSE-DIMPLES-YES. That’s what I meant, it’s hard to find books like Flat-Out Love nowadays, were the main protagonist doesn’t spend her time thinking about those muscles, dimples, whatsoever. Because, seriously, I’m kinda getting sick of those. So, thank you Jessica Park!

Let’s meet the characters.

Julie, the main protagonist, was so easy to like! She’s smart, funny, and kind.

“Mom, I have to go. I think this Matt character is here.”
“Are you sure it’s him?”
Julie peered into the car as the window lowered. “I see a maniacal-looking guy with brightly-colored candy in one hand, and he’s waving a sickle in the other. Oh! He’s beckoning me to the car. This must be my ride.”

 
She really cares about the Watkins Family even though they are not her family. I understand why she wanted to help the family, why she wanted to fix them, because hers is un-fixable.

May I present to you the Watkins Family.

Finn, the oldest son, he’s very adventurous, he loves travelling around the world. Matt, the geek nerd, he’s the middle son. He’s so fuuuuuny, very adorable, lovable! I loved the way he truly cares about Celeste, oh, the quirky yet eccentric Celeste, I liked her so much even Flat-Finn! However, I didn’t actually connect with Mr and Mrs. Watkins, maybe because they weren’t always around. Though, I feel sorry for them because of what happened in their family and I kinda understood the way they handle it because it was the only way they knew how, however, it still was wrong.

The conversations between Finn and Julie was so cute. I found myself smiling because finn is, asdfghjklr <3 I couldn’t help myself, I fell in love with him and didn’t regret it. Don’t get me wrong I also loved Matt. I almost thought that Matt and Julie would only remain friends, their banters are so cute

“Julie marched over to Matt. She stood in front of him and crossed her arms. “Lift up your sweatshirt.”
Matt rolled his eyes. “God, you really know how to turn a guy on.”

 
One of favorites was the font nerd talk! It really was hilarious! Btw, I also liked the Facebook statuses.

“At least I’m not a font nerd.”
“A what?”
Matt smiled. “You know. People who love fonts. There are people who go to a movie and get agitated because, while the movie is supposed to be set in 1962, the restaurant awning shown in the background of some scene is printed in Arras Bold, which wasn’t invented until 1991, so clearly the producers of the movie are insane and should be beheaded.”

 
But the as the story goes on, their relationship progress into a different kind of level. It’s a love triangle.. but.. not really.

As much as I love to talk about Flat-Out Love. I have to stop now because  I might give away something because there is a really, really huge bomb in this and it will surely leave your jaw hangin’! I don’t want to spoil it, you better find out for yourself. So, what are you waiting for?  Go. Read.

All in all, Flat-Out Love was a fun, amazing, heart-warming read. It has the right amount of family issues and romance. Flat-Out Love will surely teach you something you will absolutely treasure!

“It’s not what you know-or when you see-that matters. It’s about the journey.”

temp (1)5

What about you? What are your thoughts about this book! Leave a comment! xo

Links: Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Flat-Out Love (Flat-Out Love #1) by Jessica Park

  1. So glad to hear this one was good! I read Left Drowning, also by Park, and really enjoyed that one. I plan on getting a hold of a copy of this one now too! And that font thing – I need to read the book just for that. I was laughing even from those few sentences!

Leave a Reply

