Book Review: Sweet Thing by Renee Carlino

18334246Title: Sweet Thing
Author: Renee Carlino
Published: August 20th 2013 Publisher: Atria Books Edition: Kindle *PAPERBACK EDITION WILL BE AVAILABLE ON JANUARY 7, 2014*
Contemporary | New Adult

Mia Kelly thinks she has it all figured out. She’s an Ivy League graduate, a classically trained pianist, and the beloved daughter of a sensible mother and offbeat father. Yet Mia has been stalling since graduation, torn between putting her business degree to use and exploring music, her true love.

When her father unexpectedly dies, she decides to pick up the threads of his life while she figures out her own. Uprooting herself from Ann Arbor to New York City, Mia takes over her father’s café, a treasured neighborhood institution that plays host to undiscovered musicians and artists. She’s denied herself the thrilling and unpredictable life of a musician, but a chance encounter with Will, a sweet, gorgeous, and charming guitarist, offers her a glimpse of what could be. When Will becomes her friend and then her roommate, she does everything in her power to suppress her passions-for him, for music-but her father’s legacy slowly opens her heart to the possibility of something more.

tempSweet thing, indeed. Okay, Never thought I would love this book so much.  I can still feel that tangible feeling it left me after I finished it. To be honest, I was bored yesterday so I so picked it up because of the adorable cover and I’m so glad I did! When I read the Sweet Thing, what really caught me was the prologue. It was unique, captivating, creative and clever in a good way. But, wait. Before I discuss what I felt about this book. Let me just give you a piece of advice. If you’re looking for a very fast-pace romantic novel and you’re not into novel with a slow building. Well, Sweet Thing is clearly not for you. Understand? Good. Yes, this novel was slow. Despite that, it was written thoroughly and thoughtfully. Sweet Thing has this vibe I’ve been searching for; that slow yet gentle, carefree and refreshing vibe. It gave me more time to know the characters well. Especially Mia and Will since they are the main protagonist of this book. First, Mia. Everyone who read this book would say she was the most annoying heroine ever. Yes, she WAS. But what I loved about her is that she’s real. She is just a human who made stupid mistakes. The good thing was, she learned from it and I was happy when she took a step forward. It was really touching moment watching her grow. It’s like watching flowers blooming. It was beautiful and heart-warming. Will, on the other hand, was so adorable, sweet and very compassionate. He never took advantage of Mia and he gave her space even though it was hurting him like hell. Let me throw a quote, this is one of the most painful moments on the book:

”Just let me kiss your mouth,” he whispered, his eyes pleading.“

 
God. It was heartbreaking. Anyway, I was also captivated by his love for music and he wasn’t afraid to stand. He wasn’t scared to follow his dreams even though his family is not supporting him. He didn’t give a shit what other people think. That’s what I love about Will. These two people are two musicians brought up together by fate or maybe it was divine intervention (I’m quoting the book!) it doesn’t really matter. Their love for music was enthralling, mesmerizing and moving. While reading Sweet Thing, I felt like I was really there; watching, listening, feeling it.  I felt their love, their pain, their struggles, their joy. It was like, these characters are real and they are my friends. This book gave me something I know I will cherish someday. Before I read this, I kept asking myself the most terrifying question ever. ”Am I really making the right choices?” Like Mia, I’m scared. I’m always afraid to take a risk. I’m still in that absorbing-and-learning- I-don’t-know-when-I-will-change-kind-of-process but I know what this book is trying to convey.

  • Don’t be afraid to take chances
  • Don’t be afraid to make mistakes we are only just humans and it’s part of our life
  • It doesn’t really matter whether it’s the right choice or the wrong one. The important thing is that you are happy
  • Lastly, love life and life will love you back

Still, I want to say thank you to the author, Renee Carlino, for making this wonderful piece of literature. I know someday, I will be brave like Mia and Will… I’m still learning though and like Lauren said:

“Wisdom is not the same as information; it’s something entirely different. It’s often mistaken for good advice, but wisdom cannot be imparted to someone. Wisdom can only be earned.”

temp (1) 5 What are your thoughts about this book? Leave a comment! x Links: Amazon | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

