Book Review: The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

11387392 (1)Title: The Catastrophic History of You and Me
Author: Jess Rothenberg
Published: February 21st 2012
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Contemporary| Young Adult

Dying of a broken heart is just the beginning…. Welcome to forever.

BRIE’S LIFE ENDS AT SIXTEEN: Her boyfriend tells her he doesn’t love her, and the news breaks her heart—literally.

But now that she’s D&G (dead and gone), Brie is about to discover that love is way more complicated than she ever imagined. Back in Half Moon Bay, her family has begun to unravel. Her best friend has been keeping a secret about Jacob, the boy she loved and lost—and the truth behind his shattering betrayal. And then there’s Patrick, Brie’s mysterious new guide and resident Lost Soul . . . who just might hold the key to her forever after.

With Patrick’s help, Brie will have to pass through the five stages of grief before she’s ready to move on. But how do you begin again, when your heart is still in pieces?

tempFunny. Sweet. Heartbreaking

Good lord, I never thought I would loved this book so much. When I first saw this I thought it was just ”another” young adult book that ‘s full of clichés. But, boy I was so wrong! I loved this book so much! Everything about this book. I loved how every chapter is about a lyrics of a song. I was literally singing.

I loved all the characters! Especially, the protagonist, Brie. I loved her humor, her love for her family and friends. She’s very real. She’s the kind of person I want to be friend with and seeing her lose all the things she loved, was so heartbreaking.

“Turns out, hell’s not so much a burning, scalding pit of fire and misery. It’s actually much, much worse than that. Hell is when the people you love the most reach right into your soul and rip it out of you. And they do it because they can.”

 
This book will make you laugh and cry at the same time but will also give you lessons that you will treasure.

“You can obsess and obsess over how things ended- what you did wrong or could have done differently- but there’s not much of a point. It’s not like it’ll change anything. So really, why worry?”

 
Thank you Jess Rothenberg for creating this perfectly imperfect book, you’re one of my favourite authors now! :D

“Sometimes, friends drift in and out of our lives like fashion accessories – in one season and out the next.”

temp (1)4

What are your thoughts about this book? Leave a comment and we’ll talk about it! X

Links: Amazon Book Depository | Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg

  1. I loved this book too! I can’t remember why I originally picked it up, but when I started reading, I honestly thought, “Meh. This is going to suck.” I was SO wrong. It was funny and heartbreaking. With SO many good quotes.
    Stopping by from Candance’s book review link up! Mine’s here.

Leave a Reply

