Book Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

1217100Title: Thirteen Reasons Why
Author: Jay Asher
Published:  October 18th 2007
Publisher:  Razorbill
Contemporary | Young Adult

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

tempThis book is one of the most depressing book I’ve ever read. Thirteen reasons why tells a heart breaking story about Hannah Baker, a girl who committed suicide. But before that she made a record of thirteen reasons why she did it, in a cassette tapes and that has to be pass around on thirteen people who was part of her suicide. 2 weeks after her death, Clay Jensen returns home from school, he found a box lying on his front porch with his name on it. Inside of it, are the thirteen tapes, Hannah recorded. As he listens to her tapes, he got to know the real Hannah, and the reasons behind her suicide.

Jay Asher, the author, made a very well written, gut wrenching, emotional novel. The words are easy to understand and you don’t need a dictionary for this book. His writing is simple yet oh-so tragic. Asher really captured the horrific realities of high school. It’s horrifying to think that this is really happening to someone, maybe the guy sitting next to you is being bullied, yes, It’s realistic, that’s one of things I love about this book.

Honestly, When I saw this on goodreads, I thought it was boring. That’s why it took me so long to read this, and yesterday I thought I should give it a try. Oh boy, I was so wrong. The first chapter really intrigued me, and that’s what keeps me on going. It’s kinda suspenseful, and I love suspense novels, I mean who doesn’t, right? My curiosity gets the best of me, Hannah said there are thirteen reasons, and I kept on asking ”what are they?”, ”why did you do it, Hannah?”, ”what did they do to you to make you throw your precious life away?”, ”what part clay plays in?”. I must say, Jay Asher should at least try to write a mystery or thriller novel, because he’s quite good at it. (I’m a sucker for mysteries, btw)

“I’m listening to someone give up. Someone I knew – someone I liked. I’m listening.. but still, I’m too late. -Clay”

 
So, let’s talk about the main protagonist of this book, Hannah. I have a lot to say to her.

Is it just me? I didn’t sympathize that much to Hannah. I get it, she’s depressed, her world is falling apart, and she has no real friends, she has no one to talk to. But come freaking on, You’re the one who didn’t want to talk, you pushed Clay! I get it, it’s hard to trust someone again when all they do is hit you back on face real hard. But its doesn’t mean everyone is like that, it doesn’t mean they are all the same. You should have talked Hannah, I mean, real talk! Clay, Mr. Porter, Tony, Your mad and dad, they are not mind readers. Yeah, the signs. The signs was right there in front of their eyes, but they’re just signs and there’s no way they could tell it, unless of course, you tell them. But you didn’t. I feel sorry for that. Because the way you talked in the tapes, you sound as tough as nails, the way you spill their secrets. For a second I thought, you’re still alive, watching them, watching them squirm. One thing I dislike about you also was, you blamed yourself for the things you didn’t do. There’s no way in hell you could tell that something bad was going to happened, right? It’s just a coincidence, that you’re there at the wrong time, wrong place.

“A lot of you cared, just not enough.”

 
I wanted to jump into your world and yell at you to stop. Because it would do no good.

Let me just be clear about this: I love this book, I do. But Hannah was so, Ugh. I just want to punch her. That’s it. So all in all, It’s a good read. After I finished reading it, I felt lost. You know what I mean.

This book is a real eye opener, It’s true how one word, one touch, one move could affect or change someone’s life. Maybe It’s a good thing or bad thing, but we have to be careful. Everything we do in this world, there is a consequences waiting.

“You don’t know what goes on in anyone’s life but your own. And when you mess with one part of a person’s life, you’re not messing with just that part. Unfortunately, you can’t be that precise and selective. When you mess with one part of a person’s life, you’re messing with their entire life. Everything. . . affects everything.”

 
I recommend this to everyone. Every second would be worth it, I promise.

temp (1)4

What are your thoughts about this book? Leave a comment and we’ll talk about it!

P. S

This review was originally posted on my blogger account, but I already deleted it and moved here in wordpress. Thank you for reading my review. X

Links: Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

  1. I loved this book, but yeah Hannah was definitely frustrating at times!! I knew she was dead, but part of me was hoping it would be like SURPRISE I’m still here. I felt so bad for Clay. He didn’t deserve to be involved with the tapes I didn’t think. I really liked the whole idea though of using cassette tapes to tell the story. It made it feel different from your typical suicide book. Love your review!

    • Indeed, Hannah is just khferhft I wanted to smack her, hard. But *sigh* I’m not really in the position to really judge her actions. While I was reading this book, I was really really hoping that she isn’t dead, like she was just joking around.

      I am so glad you loved my review! Have a great day xo

Leave a Reply

