Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

8591107Title: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer
Author: Michelle Hodkin
Published: September 27th 2011
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing
Paranormal | Young Adult

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

temp

I’ve been eyeing this book for so long. I mean, Look at the cover. LOOK AT THE COVER! Beautiful, isn’t it? To be honest, I’m not picky when it comes to book covers, the most important is what’s in the inside, right? So basically, this is the 1st book that have been manage to persuade me into reading it, without even reading the synopsis! MY REASON: COVER. YES. COVER.

So last week, I finally got the chance to read this, even though there are so many school stuffs that I had to do (Jeez! School stuffs can wait, right?.) Here I am writing a review about this book.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is about Mara Dyer, duh obviously. However, Mara Dyer’s name is not really Mara Dyer. I think it’s on the 1st page of the book when she said that, that’s why I got really intrigued, the fact that Mara Dyer was involved in an accident with her two best friends, Rachel and Claire, and her boyfriend, Jude. Let me explain the ”accident”: They went to an abandon asylum and then the building collapsed! Unfortunately, Mara Dyer is the only who survived that tragic incident. So when she woke up, she was already in the hospital and she had only one single bruise! ONE SINGLE BRUISE PEOPLE. Plus, she has no memory at all why she was in the asylum in the first place. Mara suffered PTSD that’s why her family decided to moved to Miami, there she met NOAH SHAW. Yes, people. NOAH FUCKING SHAW. HE’S A HOT, BRITISH BLUE EYED GUY.A SWOON WORTHY GUY! GEEZ I THINK I’M INLOVE WITH HIM. *sighs*

“Why do you always look like you just rolled out of bed?’
‘Because usually I have.’ And the way he raised his eye-brow at me made me blush.
‘Classy,’ I said.”

 
Anyways, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is so amazing but it’s really creepy. It gave me goosebumps while reading it. There are so many surprises! And the way it was written, Jeez. It’s so good. I really can’t wait to read The Evolution of Mara Dyer, even though I’m so busy. FUCK SCHOOL.

“Thinking something does not make it true. Wanting something does not make it real.”

temp (1)4

What are your thoughts about this book? Leave a comment and we’ll talk about it! X

P.S

This review was originally posted on my blogger account, but I already deleted it and moved here in wordpress. Thank you for reading my review. X

Links: Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

One thought on “Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

  1. Pingback: Book Review: “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer” by Michelle Hodkin | Jinapher J. Hoffman

Leave a Reply

